If a sales order item is present on an invoice then it cannot be deleted through normal means.
However, if that invoice is cancelled, it is possible to set that line as inactive. This requires that you have a specific user role.
An inactive line is hidden from the sales order page, and will not be included in any financial calculations or reports.
The user role is Set Inactive Status for Order Items. This can be enabled from Settings - User - Roles.
Removing the sales order item
An invoice must be fully credited or paid off before it can be cancelled. Once this is done, you can use the Cancel button to cancel the invoice.
You can then use the Delete button on the right-hand side of the sales order line to remove the item. This is the same button you would use to delete an uninvoiced item.
After confirming deletion, the sales order line will be removed from view and set as inactive.
Viewing inactive items
To view any inactive items, you can check the Show Inactive box.
Inactive items will be shown, with (Inactive) appended to the item name.
will not affect financials
will not appear in Data Capture
cannot be selected for operations such as invoicing, delivery, regulation
cannot be made active again - you must add a new line
will not appear in sales order item reports
Lines with stock reservations
Note that any item with a stock reservation or allocation must have these removed before a line can be made inactive.
Lines that have been converted to assets
Converting a line to asset will not prevent you from setting it as inactive, so we advise that you update / cancel any assets first if required.