All Collections
Settings and Configuration
Managing case categories and sub-categories
Managing case categories and sub-categories

Information on configuring case categories

Written by Raymond Carrel
Updated over a week ago

Case categories allow you to classify customer service cases across a range of categories and sub-categories.

A number of properties can be set at category or sub-category level, such as SLAs and checklists. They can also be used for filtering in reports and work stacks.

Managing categories

Administrators can manage case categories from Settings - Service - Case Categories.

The Case Category Admin screen shows case categories, which can be expanded to see their respective sub-categories.

Creating a new category or sub-category

Clicking New Case Category will allow you to create either a new category or sub-category.

The Parent field allows you to indicate that you are creating a sub-category, by selecting a parent category.

You can determine values for both Response and Resolution SLAs. Team allows you to set a default team that cases of this category will be assigned to. Similarly, you can set a default Priority and Request Type (if used).

You can also indicate that a category is for Internal use only. Reports and stacks can be filtered on this status.

The Maintenance Enabled field, when checked, allows case time to be logged against maintenance plans, for users of that feature. The Deductible column determines whether or not time logged can be deducted from a maintenance plan.

Deactivating a category

The activity status of a category or sub-category is shown here.

Clicking on a category name will allow you to edit its properties, including whether or not the status is Disabled. Doing this will remove it from the drop-down on new cases.

To see disabled cases on the Case Category Admin screen, check the Show Inactive box at the bottom of the screen.

Importing case categories

Users with Data Manager access can import categories via that tool.

Did this answer your question?