It is possible to grant access to a record that a user does not own by delegating access.

This means that rather than assign a user as a record owner they can be granted access for a set period of time, this is useful in a number of situations, e.g.:

  • Annual leave cover e.g. colleagues can access records to cover periods of absence

  • Helping a colleague with a deal e.g. a colleague might specialise in a certain product that the customer needs

  • Presales users can be assigned access to records to gather data rather than assigning the record to them

Delegating access

To delegate access:

  • Open your lead or customer record

  • From the Actions dropdown menu, select Delegate Access.

Choose the assignee and the desired expiry date. This will default to the number of days defined in your Settings (covered below).

The owner and the delegated user will both receive an email alert with details of the delegation.


Access audit

Within the Lead and Customer records it is possible to also view an audit of any access or ownership that is relevant to a record.

This can be managed from the Access tab of a customer or lead. Users with the correct role can remove a delegation from here by deleting the line.


Settings - Delegation management

The Customer Management and Lead Management areas of the Settings zone allow you to see a view of all delegations that have been granted.

Settings - Customer Management / Lead Management - Customer Delegations / Lead Delegations

From here you can delete individual or multiple lines, or delete all delegations.

Settings - Default delegation period

You can set default values for delegation period in The "Company Setup" area of Settings. At the time of delegation you are free to change this date for Lead and Customer records separately.

See below for information on the third field.


Expiries

If a user with delegated access creates a non-managed expiry for a lead or customer record, their access will be extended to cover the expiry date. This means that the user will not lose access to that lead or customer while the expiry is pending.

In Settings - Defaults, you can specify how many days beyond the expiry date the delegated access will last.

Please note that, if the expiry is removed, or changed to an earlier date, the delegation will not be automatically readjusted, but can be manually amended.


Roles / Permissions

You can disable delegation assignment for a given user or team with the following roles:

  • Disable Delegation on Lead Records

  • Disable Delegation on Customer Record


Bulk assignment

If you need to delegate in bulk, please click here for our guide.

Did this answer your question?